About Us

LRA Description

The Walter Reed Local Redevelopment Authority: In accordance with BRAC law, the District established the Walter Reed LRA by Mayoral Order 2006-21. The District of Columbia is the only jurisdiction comprising the LRA and is recognized by the Department of Defense, Office of Economic Adjustment.

To oversee the preparation of the Reuse Plan, The Mayor of the District of Columbia established the Walter Reed LRA Committee. The LRA Committee was comprised of 22 members including eight District agency directors, 10 voting and alternate citizen members, and four ex-officio members. The citizen members were appointed by the Chairman of the District Council. The District agency delegates and five of the citizen members were voting members of the LRA Committee.